Curriculum - Senior

We recognise that students learn in different ways. As such, courses of study allow for a degree of individualisation, flexibility and choice.

Students in Year 7 and 8 undertake a broad curriculum. They study all eight Key Learning Areas (KLAs) / Core Subjects. This introduces them to core and elective subjects that they can choose in Years 9 and 10.

All Year 7 and 8 students are required to study subjects within all of the Key Learning Areas:

  • English
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Humanities and Business
  • Languages - French, Japanese
  • Mathematics
  • Religious Education
  • Science
  • Visual Art
  • Drama
  • Technology
  • Music


All students are required to study French and Japanese. The language of the classroom is learnt with the emphasis on fluency and spontaneity. The National Curriculum key language criteria is fully supported by the program.

English as an Additional Language support (EAL) may be allocated in the place of the Languages units for some students. Enrolment in the EAL classes is dependent on the approval and recommendation of the Head of Learning Enrichment, EAL/Learning Support teachers and counsellors. Students who have not gone through the correct process for allocation to the ESL courses will automatically be placed in a Language class.

The Arts

All students study four subjects from the Visual and Performing Arts areas – Arts, Technology, Drama and Music.